Continental European after 1800, Dress and Textiles 31 Can anyone tell us more about the sitter in this portrait and suggest a possible artist?

Matilda Eiler
Topic: Artist

This painting was previously attributed to Ary Scheffer by the vendor’s family, but is now thought to be by a Danish artist. Perhaps the sitter was Danish? It looks to be of good quality.

Andrew Shore, Entry reviewed by Art UK

31 comments

Jacinto Regalado,

Well, based on the hair, it would appear to be c. 1860.

Jacinto Regalado,

I am not a fashion expert, Cath, but maybe Lou Taylor could address the matter for the sake of greater precision.

Kieran Owens,

Is there any background information as to why the Ashmolean purchased this work in 1998? Did the name Matilda Eiler mean anything to them, or was it because of the Ary Scheffer attribution?

The portrait, having been "passed down through the vendor's family" would appear, according to the 'The Ashmolean Museum: Complete Illustrated Catalogue' (2004), to have been purchased from a Mrs. Jette Zerega. Other than a reference to a Bob and Jette Zerega meeting with wildlife photographer and film-maker Warren Garst (1922 - 2016) in Nairobi in 1975, little or nothing can be found about her online, or about the sitter either.

Jacinto Regalado,

The surname Eiler is of German origin but occurs in Denmark, where it has a higher incidence than in other Scandinavian countries (no doubt because of Denmark's greater proximity to Germany).

Jacinto Regalado,

Yes, Monies is certainly worth considering. As for the date, it may be 1850s, but Lou Taylor is best suited to address that issue.

Martin Hopkinson,

It could be 1840s see the costume in
Richard Buckner's Saltram 1843 Harriet Parker, Countess of Morley

Jacinto Regalado,

One assumes, of course, that there's no signature of any kind and that there's nothing potentially useful on the back of the picture. Is that so?

Jimaa Alaa,