Art UK has updated its cookies policy. By using this website you are agreeing to the use of cookies. To find out more read our updated Use of Cookies policy and our updated Privacy policy.

William Robert Raynes (1871–1966)
William Robert Raynes (1871–1966)

Photo credit: Derby Museums Trust

How you can use this image


This image is available to be shared and re-used under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike licence.

This image can be reproduced in any way but your use of it cannot be for any kind of commercial purpose.

Any work you create using this image must also be licensed under this same licence.

Wherever you reproduce the image or an altered version of it, you must attribute the original creators (acknowledge the original artist(s), the person/organisation that took the photograph of the work) and any other stated rights holders.

Click on 'More information' for further guidance on using images from Art UK.

Visit the Creative Commons website to read the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International licence



Add or edit a note on this artwork that only you can see. You can find notes again by going to the ‘Notes’ section of your account.

Derby Museums Trust

Art UK Founder Partner

More information




oil on canvas


H 152.4 x W 101.6 cm

Accession number

DCT 10

Work type


Inscription description

1. signed 2. Alderman William Robert Raynes MP (Will Raynes of Derby). Entered Derby Town Council as first Labour member Oct 1911; was elected first Labour Mayor 1921–2, first Labour Alderman 1923; and appointed Justice of the Peace 1925; he was twice elected as Member of Parliament for the Borough and in 1935 was awarded the Honorary Freedom of the Borough. His colleagues and many admirers have presented this portrait to the Borough of Derby as a tribute to his inspiring leadership, loyal comra


You can help us tag artworks on Tagger. The tags above come from the public, and also from an image recognition project run by the Visual Geometry Group, University of Oxford.