Ian Blatchford was appointed Director and Chief Executive of the Science Museum Group in November 2010 and combined this with the role of Director of the Science Museum from December 2010. The group oversees the Science Museum, National Railway Museum, National Science and Media Museum, and the Museum of Science and Industry.

Previously Ian was Deputy Director of the Victoria and Albert Museum, having joined as Director of Finance and Resources before that.

He started his career at the Bank of England and Barclays de Zoete Wedd, before joining the Arts Council as Deputy Finance Director and then the Royal Academy of Arts as Director of Finance.

Ian is Chairman of the Governors of De Montfort University and Chair of the National Museum Directors’ Council.