Art UK has updated its cookies policy. By using this website you are agreeing to the use of cookies. To find out more read our updated Use of Cookies policy and our updated Privacy policy.

West Lothian Council, County Buildings
West Lothian Council, County Buildings

West Lothian has one of the fastest growing populations in Scotland. The area is centrally situated with great transport network links. West Lothian has a mix of traditional villages and towns such as the Royal Burgh of Linlithgow, Armadale, Bathgate, Broxburn and Uphall, Whitburn and the vibrant new town of Livingston which celebrated its 50th Anniversary in 2012. Before 1975 West Lothian was known as the county of Linlithgowshire. Much of the Council's art collection consists of commissioned portraits of important Linlithgowshire landowners and politicians. One of the oldest was painted by Sir Henry Raeburn and shows John, 4th Earl of Hopetoun, whose estate near South Queensferry now lies just outside West Lothian. A more recent work is the portrait of former local MP Tam Dalyell, painted in 1985 by Victoria Crowe. The collection also features recent works from local artists. Going forward the Council seeks to commission artworks as integral parts of its prestigious buildings in a variety of media.

Visit venue's website

West Lothian Council, County Buildings is managed by West Lothian Council

West Lothian Council, County Buildings

Civic Centre, Howden South Road, Livingston, West Lothian EH54 6FF Scotland

01506 777000

Please remember to double-check the opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit